Simple and delicious 5 ingredient red berry & chocolate shortbread biscuits.

Hey lovelies! So, mother’s day is coming up and I thought that there is nothing better than a homemade treat as a present. I’m not the best baker in the world, so i thought I’d give this shortbread a practice run before the big day! … and it means that my boyfriend and I can enjoy them over the weekend.

I’ve decided to take my basic shortbread recipe and add some ingredients to make the biscuits extra special for my mum. I have chosen milk chocolate and red berries; mainly because I had a lot of red berries left over from my breakfasts this week. The biscuits also come out pink… which totally fits the mother’s day theme! What’s not to love. I think I might have a go at a few different flavours next week, so I’ll keep you guys posted & let you know my favourites!

Time: 1 hour

Makes: 9

Ingredients:

125g Butter

55g Caster Sugar

180g Plain Flour

80g Frozen Berries (Raspberries, red currants, black currents…)

350g Milk Chocolate (For decoration)

How to make this delicious shortbread…

  1. Turn your oven to 190 Degrees Celsius and grease a baking tray.
  2. Beat your butter and sugar together in a bowl.
  3. Mix in your flour.
  4. Mix in your frozen berries (and add a little more flour if your mixture begins to go sticky)

5. Roll out your dough and use a cookie cutter to shape your biscuits and bake them for 20-25 minutes (or until golden).

6. Melt the chocolate, decorate & enjoy!

Leave a comment