Signs which may indicate an eating disorder.

Eating disorders tend to be a very secretive mental health problem and people who suffer from eating disorders tend to be experts in hiding their issues. This means that if you suspect your loved one needs help and support with anorexia, bulimia, or another unspecified eating disorder; it can often be very hard to approach the subject. I am currently in recovery from an eating disorder, but it took me a number of years before I finally admitted that I had a problem. Therefore, in this post I have drafted a number of signs which can indicate that an ED is present. I hope that this may help you; whether you believe you may have an ED or are worried about a loved one.

  1. Constantly saying ‘I already ate’.

When you are suffering from an ED, eating in front of, or with, others can be a fearful situation. This means that people with eating disorders are likely to want to avoid food all together in social circumstances. ‘I already ate’ is the best excuse to not have to eat again.

2. Avoiding events which involve food.

Again, any events which involve food can cause fear and anxiety for someone suffering with an ED. Therefore, this person is likely to decline invitations to meals out, or nights in with a take-away and movie- however lovely they sound.

3. Eating very little and then lots.

This is something I can confirm from personal experience. My parents were well aware that my eating habits were strange as I would be able to eat very little all week, but then eat a huge amount one night. This was normally because I either wanted to ‘prove’ to someone that I did not have an ED, or that I was able to ignore my ED for one night- even though it would rear it’s ugly head much stronger the next day. Remember, if you are able to relax around food for one night, this does not mean that your ED is gone.

4. Subtly checking the nutritional content at food.

Having an ED means your are generally hyper-aware of what you are putting into your body. This means that before eating, someone with an ED is likely to want to read the packets their food came in, or google the nutritional content of food before they eat it.

5. Disappearing after a meal or going to the toilet.

This may be to purge food or to weigh them self.

6. Becoming defensive during conversations about food.

Talking about food, weight and eating habits can be a very uncomfortable situation for someone with an eating disorder. They may become defensive or want to change the subject completely whenever this situation is brought up.

7. Inconsistent stories about food.

This was a big give-away for me when I suffered from an ED. If someone would ask me what I ate for lunch; I would automatically react by saying ‘a sandwich’ or ‘a meal deal’ from a local supermarket. Yet, anyone who knew me would have known that I barely touched bread, even before developing an ED.

8. Spending a large amount of time looking at food on social media.

Looking at food is one way of treating your body and making yourself feel like you have eaten without actually having to do so (I know… weird right?). Spending hours scrolling through Instagram or Pinterest looking at food and recipes, yet never actually eating may indicate an ED.

Leave a comment